College Council Elections Begin, Campus-wide Elections Postponed to Week 8

AS Elections 2020 - NewsCampusNewsStudent Government

The candidate meeting from inside AS chambers.
Kristina Stahl / The Triton

Written by:

Associated Students of UC San Diego (ASUCSD) spring elections have been delayed to May 18, six weeks after the original scheduled date of April 6, in response to campus measures focused on mitigating the spread of COVID-19.

Originally, ASUCSD elections were set to be held during Week 2 of Spring Quarter 2020 as prescribed in the ASUCSD constitution. In response to the current situation, ASUCSD Senate passed a constitutional amendment granting the elections manager and ASUCSD executives the power to form an emergency committee that can make temporary changes to the elections code during a campus emergency. The amendment does not specify what a campus emergency is.

On March 13, the committee unanimously decided to postpone campus-wide ASUCSD elections until Week 8, while college council elections will continue to be held this week. These measures only apply to the 2020 election season.

The CAPS Student Fee Referendum will remain on the ballot for the Week 8 election, and the Recreation Student Fee Referendum has been postponed until next year.

“This was a decision made unanimously by the committee; after a long conversation about the status of the school we had decided that at that point there was no clear message or plan on how the status of the school would be come Week 2,” explained Elections Manager Danielle Viviani. “We all agreed that it would be splitting [ASUCSD’s] focus from our advocacy efforts and managing the crisis to spend our effort informing and encouraging the entirety of our student body to vote.”

This year, 22 candidates are running for 14 positions in ASUCSD. Candidates typically organize into slates, political parties that are created for elections and usually dissolve at the end of the election. Two slates filed to run this year: Forward! and BOLD. However, only BOLD has candidates running for every position. Meanwhile, Forward! registered candidates for two of the three executive positions and two senator positions.

Forward!, formerly known as The Front, attempted to publicly recruit candidates from the general student body. Slate cofounders Patrick Miencharoen, a third-year Political Science student from Revelle College, and Samuel Fleet, a second-year Cognitive Science student from Muir College, held a Reddit Ask Me Anything (AMA) on the UCSD subreddit in an effort to recruit students.

“We chose to recruit [publicly] because that’s the way it ought to be in a democracy, you do things upfront and in the public eye,” Miencharoen said. “Parties/slates go out and pitch their ideas to people and people join the party/slate with whom they’re most ideologically aligned with. We here at Forward! are committed to promoting a liberal, open, and active democracy.”

Forward! consists of four candidates headed by Miencharoen. He is running for president alongside Fleet, who is running for vice president (VP) of campus affairs. They are the only two running for executive positions. The remaining two members, James Callahan and Phoenix Stout, are running for two of the five campus-wide senator positions available.

BOLD consists of 13 candidates, led by Campus-Wide Senator Kimberly Giangtran. Giangtran is running for president, Advocate General Hannah Kreitman for VP campus affairs, and Alisha Saxena for VP external affairs. Four members are running for the campus-wide senator positions. BOLD candidates are also running unopposed for arts and humanities senator, physical sciences senator, social sciences senator, and both off-campus senator positions.

Five independent candidates are running in the election this year. An Huang, the current arts and humanities senator, is running against Saxena for VP external affairs. Three independents are running for the campus-wide senator positions. Finally, independent candidate Sean Dearden will be running against BOLD candidate Mihir Pandya for biological sciences senator.

Since campaigning does not begin until May 10 at 4:00 p.m., information regarding candidate and slate platforms are on the online candidates list and slates list, respectively.

Students will cast their votes on TritonLink. College council voting started at 10:00 a.m. today and will end at 4:00 p.m. on April 10. Election results will be available at 6:30 p.m. on April 10.

ASUCSD voting will be from 10:00 a.m. on May 18 to 4:00 p.m. on May 22. Election results will be available at 6:30 p.m. on May 22.Samir Nomani is the News Editor at The Triton. You can follow him @samir_the_first.

2020 ASUCSD Elections Candidates

 PresidentVice President of Campus AffairsVice President of External AffairsCampus-Wide Senator (5)Off Campus Senator (2)Arts and Humanities SenatorSocial Sciences SenatorBiological Sciences SenatorPhysical Sciences Senator
BOLDASUCSD 2020 Presidential candidate Kimberly Giangtran

Kimberly Giangtran

ASUCSD 2020 VP Campus Affairs candidate Hannah Kreitman

Hannah Kreitman

ASUCSD 2020 VP External Affairs candidate Alisha Saxena

Alisha Saxena

ASUCSD 2020 Campus-Wide Senator candidate Clayton Marshall Allen

Clayton Marshall Allen

ASUCSD 2020 Off-Campus Senator candidate Chitra Kulkarni

Chitra Kulkarni

ASUCSD 2020 Arts and Humanities Senator candidaate Deena Gharibian

Deena Gharibian

ASUCSD 2020 Social Sciences Senator candidate Jamila Francisco

Jamila Francisco

ASUCSD 2020 Biological Sciences Senator candidate Mihir Pandya

Mihir Pandya

ASUCSD 2020 Physical Sciences Senator candidate Isabella Ying

Isabella Ying

ASUCSD 2020 Campus-Wide Senator candidate Ben Lonc

Ben Lonc

ASUCSD 2020 Off-Campus Senator candidate Harper Estus

Harper Estus

ASUCSD 2020 Campus-Wide Senator candidate Tommy Jung

Tommy Jung

ASUCSD 2020 Campus-Wide Senator candidate Angel Alfredo Quiroa

Angel Alfredo Quiroa

Forward!ASUCSD 2020 Presidential candidate Patrick Miencharoen

Patrick Miencharoen

ASUCSD 2020 VP Campus Affairs candidate Samuel J-W Fleet

Samuel J-W Fleet

ASUCSD 2020 Campus-Wide Senator candidate James F. Callahan

James F. Callahan

ASUCSD 2020 Campus-Wide Senator candidate Phoenix Stout

Phoenix Stout


An Huang

ASUCSD 2020 Campus-Wide Senator candidate Alexander Simon Levine

Alexander Simon Levine

ASUCSD 2020 Biological Sciences Senator candidate Sean Graham Dearden

Sean Graham Dearden

ASUCSD 2020 Campus-Wide Senator candidate Adam Tyler

Adam Tyler

ASUCSD 2020 Campus-Wide Senator candidate Samuel Allen Burkholder

Samuel Allen Burkholder

Candidates for the 2020 ASUCSD elections with their listed slate affiliation. All images pulled from the ASUCSD elections website. Note: independent means no slate affiliation; candidates listed as independents are not affiliated with each other.